International Tuba Euphonium Association Logo

The 2017 Clifford Bevan Award for Excellence in Research

Information for the next cycle of Bevan Awards will be posted soon.

For informative purposes, here is the last cycle's information

Click to download NOMINATION FORM

The International Tuba Euphonium Association established the Clifford Bevan Award for Excellence in Research to foster excellence and to encourage the highest level of research pertaining to the tuba, euphonium, and/or related instruments. Low-brass scholarship genres represent research on contemporary and historical topics related to acoustics, composition, theory, scoring, organology, and pedagogy and may include methodologies of oral history, biographical and ethnographic, historical, quantitative, statistical, and survey research.

The Bevan Award is presented at the biennial International Tuba Euphonium Conference in conjunction with the presentations of the Harvey G. Phillips Award for Composition, the Roger Bobo Award for Recording and the Jim and Jamie Self Creative Award. The recipient of the Bevan Award receives a $500 stipend and an excerpt of the research is published in the ITEA Journal.

2016 ITEA Bevan Award Forms may be obtained at:

For more information, send queries to

Craig Kridel, Coordinator, 2016 ITEA Bevan Research Award Committee,

The Clifford Bevan, Roger Bobo, Harvey G. Phillips, and Jim and Jamie Self Awards were established by ITEA to foster, encourage, and recognize excellence in the fields of recording, composition, and research. These awards recognize the very best artists, composers, and researchers who have produced work of the highest distinction and are indeed given to those whose work illustrates the highest level of artistry and scholarship, regardless of popularity or other factors.

Click to download NOMINATION FORM

Latest Journal

Alan Baer New york Philharmonic Tuba

George Mason Scholarship

Brevard Music Center Advert

ITEA Spring Journal Advert Miraphone Ben Pierce

ITEA Spring Journal Advert yamaha Tom McCaslin

ITEA Spring Journal Advert Adams Martin Cochran

ITEA News Headlines