International Tuba Euphonium Association Logo

2017 Winston Morris Award for Tuba Ensemble Composition

The Morris Award was established in 2016 by R. Winston Morris in celebration of his 50th anniversary as professor of tuba at Tennessee Tech University to foster, encourage, and recognize excellence in the field of composition. This award will recognize the very best composers who have produced works of the highest distinction and is indeed given to those whose work illustrates the highest level of artistry, regardless of popularity or other factors.

Information for the next cycle of Morris Awards will be posted soon.


• Tuba and Euphonium Ensemble (4 or more parts): any combination of euphoniums AND tubas consisting of four or more parts with or without percussion.

• Open to any original composition for tuba/euphonium ensemble of four or more parts that was completed between January 1, 2014 and March 31, 2016.

• Finalists will be notified in the spring of 2016.

• Three finalists and one winner will be announced at the International Tuba Euphonium Conference in Knoxville, TN at the University of Tennessee, May 30-June 4, 2016.

• ITEA Board and Staff are not eligible to apply for or receive this award.

• The adjudication panel reserves the right to not name a winner.

Submission of Materials:

• ALL ENTRIES MUST BE ELECTRONICALLY SUBMITTED by 31 March 2016. Submissions received after 11:59pm on 31 March 2016 will not be considered.

• Materials will not be returned to applicant.

• Compositions MUST be submitted in PDF format. Works may be published or non-published at time of submission. A recording (live or studio performance or MIDI realization) is encouraged to be submitted (electronically) with your submission but is not required (see additional guidelines for submitting recordings on the online application form)

• Your composition must have a submission form.

• Questions may be directed to


Funding for this award has been made available by Professor R. Winston Morris in celebration of his 50th anniversary as professor of tuba at Tennessee Tech University. The amount of the prize money will be contingent upon the amount of interest contained in the endowed amount. Anticipate $1,000. Prize Winner: $1,000


Timothy Northcut, chair
W. David Porter
Gail Robertson
John Stevens

Latest Journal

Alan Baer New york Philharmonic Tuba

George Mason Scholarship

Brevard Music Center Advert

ITEA Spring Journal Advert Miraphone Ben Pierce

ITEA Spring Journal Advert yamaha Tom McCaslin

ITEA Spring Journal Advert Adams Martin Cochran

ITEA News Headlines